Dear Me, (Reflections and Advice from the Future)

 Hey Kiersten, it’s you from the year 2012. Apparently this year the world is gonna end, but I made it thru y2k, the bird and swine flu’s, and the rise and fall of MySpace. I’m not too worried, and I know you and you know me, we’re worriers of the worst kind.

I learned a few lessons in my years here, I thought I would pass on. I know you’re stubborn and might not listen to me, but if not, hey don’t say I didn’t warn you!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Dear First Grade Me, Your father in the principle… your mother is the school nurse… every teacher knows your name. If you are ever gonna be able to “rule the school” now is your time to act. P.S. Not that you’ll listen, but that building a couple doors down is not for psychos… it’s just a old folks home. They aren’t that scary, cheek pinching aside.

Second grade me, keeping dozens of lady bugs as pets just doesn’t work. They won’t stay in that barbie house, and you will wake up with them in your hair. Oh, that squirrel that eats out of your hand, Nutter Butter,  take a picture with him. I don’t think I remembered to!

Don’t let Breelin play, “Don’t step on Toffee”, it just ends in tears, a dead hamster and a missed soccer game. (You make an awesome goalie, you find out later you were the goalie because you were the only one not afraid of putting your face down with a bunch of kicking soccer cleats. You rock.)

Third grade me, when your teacher is reading about some little boy being very sick and she faints, she isn’t just being dramatic. Get the nurse. Oh, and taking home your class Turtle for the weekend may seem fun now… FYI they stink. Literally.

You should really consider enjoying reading starting now, it makes those crazy long car trips slightly more bearable. Although after about 16 hours in the car enjoying it goes out the window, you just want to survive.

Fourth grade me, looking back I know that for fourth graders some of your friends can be VERY dramatic. As a pastor’s daughter I guess it’s good that God brings you this lesson early in life. Remember to try and deal with people diplomatically… oh I have you to thank for the beginning of my life long friendship with a near and dear friend, Sarcasm. Don’t know how I would have made it through school without you. PS. You’re amazing at Wall Ball and Four Square.

Fifth grade me, this is your last year in California. But, it’s okay. Not everyone in Kansas wears ruby slippers and has annoying yappy dogs. Some people there are even pretty awesome. Please though, take advantage of the great cali beaches while your still there. Wear sunscreen.

You have a cute little brother, he screams and cries and only shuts up when you sit outside with him. But you will love him alot, at least until he starts leaving legos on the ground. Take lots of blackmail pictures!

Sixth grade me, see I told you Kansas wasn’t all that bad. You’re at the age when guys get really annoying. Here’s a tip: it doesn’t get any better… Clear mascara is not make-up, it’s clear. It is the chapstick of mascaras.

Also, Xanga is a trap. It is not a private online diary. Do not complain about the mean things your friends do, even if they are mean… because one of the will eventually find the page and drag you to the scary counselor’s office,  after printing out the page of course.

Seventh grade me, don’t be scared about memorizing your locker combo and finding all your classes, you will do it eventually. Just remember, if you walk into a classroom and your seat is taken, make sure your in the right class period before asking the teacher what’s wrong.

Go to the mixer, some kids try to do the worm and it’s a great laugh. Oh, and play outside as much as you can, you’ll miss it.

PS Get over your pony tail phase! Oh my goodness do something with your hair!

Eighth grade me, you think your about to die. Leaving all your very best friends behind in Kansas. You won’t die, but don’t expect things to be a breeze in Christian school either. You’ll meet a few people to help you  get through the year. Might even see a cute guy. Just remember girls are never as dramatic as they are in Jr. High, and you thought fourth grade was bad! ha!

Ninth grade me, you’ll love the year of homeschooling. Just stay on top of things, chill in your PJs. When your co-op group goes to the art museum don’t even whisper joke about sitting on the ancient throne chair (even if it’s only behind a rope and doesn’t seem all that important), the guard a few feet away has like super hearing and will lecture your group for 10 minutes on the evils of sitting in the chair. And when they take you to a fancy lunch… salad with pecan encrusted goat cheese is not your best bet.

Tenth grade me, welcome to China Spring. Make some new friends, switch to a top locker (before the guy above you drops a text book on your head), and try your best in every class.

Eleventh grade me, new science wing! Yay. Not really. Chemistry isn’t that bad if you pay attention and take good notes. But for goodness sake don’t forget your rubber band or closed toe shoes on lab day.

Oh, and you don’t think your going to prom, but you are. You also will find a great dress on clearance at davids bridal a week before prom. Don’t stress about a date, you learn it’s more fun to go with friends anyways. Oh, and don’t leave your ticket in the car when your dad goes to vacuum it. You won’t see it again.

Twelfth grade me, Wow. Don’t stress about what you want to do. I still don’t know. But I do know several of your friends have changed majors several times. (Your mom was gonna be a Spanish teacher for goodness sake!) Stop freaking out and enjoy the year.

For heaven’s sake, wear like 6000 SPF sunscreen at the beach this summer! You would rather be white, than red and peeling. I swear.

No matter what you do, you cannot make a paper airplane. It just won’t happen. Beg someone for help ahead of time as opposed to last minute.

At the Zoo, go out the back way… because you CANNOT SEE past the bush, and with your luck you’ll pull out right in front of a state trooper, who isn’t the “give a warning” type.

Relax, Trust God, Perfect Your Amazing Signature, and Enjoy the Ride (it goes fast!)

See ya in the Mirror, Kiersten

This post was inspired by the Brad Paisley Song Letter to Me. It’s cute.

Letter to Me – Brad Paisley

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on March 27, 2012, in Just Kiersten, Living Life. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good reflections 🙂
    I actually got swine flu, and I didn’t die
    So, WINNING!! 😛

Leave a Reply

