Chicken Tortilla Soup

Tonight I made some delicious chicken tortilla soup for my mom, she has been wanting it for days… so I figured, why not?

Here is the recipe I used: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chicken-tortilla-soup-i/?extkb=1

I highly recommend it,  with a couple twists.

What I love love love about making soup is the fact that you can totally make it your own, and personalize it to your family’s tastes.

I added red beans to the recipe (rinsed and drained), I added more chicken broth, and no water. I probably used way more chili powder than it said, I didn’t measure it. I replaced the Oregano with Cumin, and I didn’t add the cilantro. I also just used the whole can of hominy instead of just throwing away some of it. I also had it simmer way longer than 40 minutes, closer to a couple of hours. It made the house smell great!

As for toppings, we got some sliced avocado,  shredded cheese and tortilla strips.

For the tortilla strips I covered them in a mixture of melted butter, chili powder, and garlic powder melted together. They were probably one of my favorite parts of the meal, if I were gonna be honest.

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

