Esther

I was trying to decide who my favorite woman in the Bible was… it took next to no time to decide. Without a doubt it is Esther.

Don’t get me wrong… Mary gave birth to Jesus (at 14!!), Sarah had a kid at like 90 something years old, and Mary Magdalene was the first to see Jesus after he had been crucified. There are many many amazing stories and women in the Bible. Esther is my all time fave though.

Maybe it is my inner five year old loving the fact that a regular girl got plucked out of the ordinary and was  magically transformed into a princess. Maybe it is just because it is the most Disney-ish story I could find in the Bible thus far, but whatever the reason, I love it.

I love the movies, like One Night with the King, or even the Veggie Tales version. The story never get’s old to me… Like some old Disney movie, the magic never wears off.

But, as a (mature and grown-up, hahaha) 18 year old, I look up to Esther because of her courage in the face of adversity, and her ability to trust the Lord. She trusted that she had been placed where she was for a reason, one of the hardest things for people to do.

There are a few valuable things I believe can be taken away from Esther (Don’t read this as if I have graduated bible school. I haven’t. It’s not deeply theological. It’s just an 18 year old girl’s take on her favorite story!):

  1. Your Past Cannot Hold You Back: Esther’s parents had both died. I cannot imagine something worse, yet as you hopefully know she goes on to become a queen. (Esther 2:7
  2. God Will Always Provide: With no parents to raise her, did she grow up on the streets? No of course not, this is more Cinderella than Aladdin. God provided her with a cousin, Mordecai, who raised her as his own daughter. (Esther 2:7)
  3. Other People Can See The Light of God in You: Even if they don’t realize it, if you act according to your faith, you can be a light to people and not even know it. They’ll know something is different in you… Just like Hegai immediately took a liking to Esther. Setting her up with special foods and servants. (Esther 2:9)
  4. Respect the Opinions of the Authorities God has Placed in your Life: Esther listened to Mordecai’s advice several times while she is in the process of becoming queen, and even after she had become queen she didn’t get too big of a head to listen to her father-figure. It saved her life a couple times.
    It also ends up getting her the king. She asks for Hegai for advice before seeing the king, and she did pretty well if you ask me.
  5. Know When to Keep Quiet: One of the biggest things you can get out of the book of Esther is that she knows when to shut up and when to respectfully speak her mind. I think many many people could learn this lesson, ESPECIALLY me.
  6. The final thing I really take from Esther, Always Have Faith in God… He’s Got Your Back! Esther has to break laws and face evil psychos… but that is really nothing compared to how scary it can be to put complete faith in God, especially when you know your neck is on the line.

If you haven’t read Esther, I highly highly suggest it. It’s got intrigue, mystery, romance, and suspense. If you don’t have a bible, I nifty site I love to use is Bible Gateway, it has the whole bible in like a ton of versions, so you can compare and see what you like best.

Anyways, I pray that I can be more like Esther as I continue to grow older. If everyone was more like her, and placed God and even other people before themselves our world would be so much better.

Ta-ta for now! Kiersten

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Book Nerd. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

