Defensive Driving: The Survival Guide

Please let my first piece of advice be “Prevention is the best medicine” AKA “Don’t be stupid and get a ticket.”

Don’t purposely break the law. Don’t go 55 in a 45, don’t run the red light even if it lasts FOREVER and no one’s coming. Just. Say. No.

But, life happens and sometimes a ticket is unavoidable. For instance… my ticket, that the lovely State Trooper decided to give me, thanks.

I happened to be at the Zoo with Kayla, it was the first day this summer had been under 95 degrees, we had to do something to celebrate… because I am totally five at heart we jumped at the chance to go to the Zoo. Aw, look here we are…

Besides animals, what does the zoo have? Plants… and of course, at the entrance sign there was a forest of colorful plants… They were beautiful until they caused me to get a ticket. They blocked my view down the street, and so, in order to see anything, I had to be in the middle of the road… thinking it was clear I pull out slowly, and of course right in front of a state trooper, who cites me for fail to yield right of way or something like that, thus, defensive driving.

Defensive driving will be some of the most boring hours of your lifetime, second only to driver’s ed, and a nice tie with Pre-cal class.

The creators of the defensive driving program must believe every reads slower than a first grader, because they give you 10 minutes to read something that only takes like 3 minutes.

Here is how you survive the 75% of time that you would otherwise waste staring blankly at a boring screen of words and awful late 90’s driving videos.

  1. Read what you need to read, and actually watch the videos, there are quizzes! (That said, I am one of those people who can totally fake it through a test and come out with an A… I’m just a “good test taker” as my mom said, I don’t have to try hard. Comes in handy in school and for the ACT.) Take all the time you ned to feel good about the material.
  2. Break it up. Don’t go for all 6 hours at once if at all possible. Break it up over a few days, one or two a day. You will go stir crazy if you had to do six hours at once… and even at school they suggest breaking study time up into 20 minute segments.
  3. For those extra minutes you really don’t need but cannot skip: have a book to read, your favorite Pandora station playing (Michael Buble!), and facebook or pinterest ready to look at while you 7 minutes tick by on the timer you are forced to wait for.

Tah-dah. Therefore if you end up in the position of needing to complete driver’s ed online, you now know how to survive. Your Welcome.

Merry Christmas!

Love, Kiersten

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on December 23, 2011, in Just Kiersten. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

