Lessons from Darcy

I don’t really know of any girls that would turn down Mr. Darcy. ( I mean like a modern-day version… because if some guys from the 1800’s randomly walked up to me, I’d turn him down… with like pepper spray.)

I mean, even Elizabeth ended up falling for him, you know, even with all the Pride he was plagued with and the Prejudices she just couldn’t seem to drop.

So, I think guys should get a clue, take a hint. I mean, why do girls watch chick flicks?

Here is my theory… Girls watch chick flicks (or read chick lit) because they 1.) Can relate to it, or 2.) wish they could relate to it, or  3.) the story just has the awww factor.

So when I am watching Cinderella Story, I wouldn’t mind going to the ball with Chad Michael Murray. (And can you blame me??) Watching the Notebook? Finding true love again, how cute? Aww factor for sure. (I can hear all the girls smiling when they finally kiss after all those years, almost everyone does. Watching people’s expressions during movies is so fun! Seriously. Do it.)

So I thought I’d just guys in on the secret… learn from what girls love. They love chick flicks. They love Pride and Prejudice. And we all have a secret (some not so secret and slightly too literal to be called “normal) crush on the “Darcy figure”.

While this theory does involve actually guys watching Pride and Prejudice, there are some great battle scenes… (Sisters fighting over ribbon can be BRUTAL.)

Learning from Darcy:

 

Mr Darcy: One of the greatest book figures (and in a movie) of all times. His picture is under the word swoon in the encyclopedia. (Although this actor is NOT how I picture Darcy… The guy in my head’s version of the book/movie is under the word swoon.)

Let’s face it. He is infuriating, self-absorbed, big-headed, rude and insensitive… But he must have done something right, because girls still talk about Darcy in their Facebook status, tweets, and blog posts.

In case you are somehow totally in the dark (shame on you), here are the must know to at least bring you into the outskirts of the loop. Darcy is an arrogant rich guy with a big ego, he lives in a palace, his family is slightly batty, and underneath it all he is a loyal friend and totally head over heels in love with Elizabeth. Of course it takes the whole book to get to that part, but I am fairly certain I am not giving it all away.

Darcy… Some things to be said for him. He is not perfection in a bottle. He needs a haircut, better manners, and to learn to converse with people. (I mean, he’s like filthy rich, you’d think he’d be able to hold a conversation for more than 2 sentences.)

Lesson’s from Darcy:

Lesson # 1. Being rich can’t hurt! haha. But seriously, don’t be lazy. Get a job. The girl having to pay for everything. Turn-off. Even when my friends date guys like that it annoys me.

Lesson # 2. Self-sacrifice. Darcy’s worst enemy in the world causes a great scandal for the Bennet family. What does Darcy do? Bails out the Bennet family by paying off his worst nightmare. Humiliation at it’s finest. Of course later he admits it was all for Elizabeth, but it worked didn’t it?

Lesson # 3. May I point out,  He wasn’t trying to be the hero. He kept his involvement in this scandal all a secret. Her blabby sister told her what went down. So, she knew he wasn’t doing it just to win her affection, he actually cared.

Lesson # 4. Darcy put Elizabeth before his own family… I technically don’t know if this counts as a great deed or not, because the aunt he totally snubbed was like a demented evil witch, but still… She was first in his life, and even the evil schemes of an evil Aunt didn’t get in the way. Which is always good.

 Lesson # 5. He is good in a crisis. When any girl pictures her future guy, and in this little dream land something goes wrong, none of us want the guy to cry for his mommy or faint… We want action, and results. Queue Darcy. Elizabeth’s sister goes missing… She freaks out. He keeps a level head and finds her. Smooth.

Lesson # 6. He tells it like it is. He isn’t all cryptic, he didn’t beat around the bush, he just told Elizabeth how he felt. He loved her, no ifs,ands or buts about it.

Lesson  # 7. He knows just how to tease her. He knows when to back off, when to let an issue drop, and when to push her buttons a little bit more. They are on the same level, which makes all the witty banter so cute… if not slightly annoying. (I mean, I’d totally kill them if I knew them in real life.)

Not to mention… Have you seen Pemberly? Can you say mansion? Gorgeous, beautiful mansion. (Which only makes me happy because it totally comes with maid service. 70,000 sq feet to clean- no thanks… maids to annoy-yes, please… Although I did learn a few lessons from the help, always be nice to the cook. ALWAYS.)

In the end… I think we can all agree… Beyond the complete loyalty, compassion, patience and adoration for Elizabeth, the real reason we love Darcy… totally the accent.

Love, Kiersten.

 

 

 

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Book Nerd. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. LOL! Love it. Great thoughts. Enjoyed hearing from you today at http://www.SouthernBelleView.com. Keep writing! You’re good at it ;o) — Lisa

Leave a Reply

