Flip flops, Bugs Bunny and Bed Bugs, OH MY!

Home again, and unfortunately not by the clicking of ruby slippers, but by the five or six hour drive (with a sunburn) from Galveston to Waco. Fun.

So, because the hotel we stayed at decided not to like wordpress.com I haven’t blogged in awhile so I have some things to catch you up on.

Enchanted Rock (Easily the understatement of the century, that rock was a freaking mountain. Calling this a rock is the equivilent to calling  Brittany Spears “slightly unbalanced” during her no underwear/bald phase, it just doesn’t do it justice.)

Dad thought it would be great to relive a highschool field trip he took and make us all climb Enchanted Rock, in 104 degree weather. So, the day he decides to make this happen, we all (except for him of course) wear flip flops. Flip flops are  the summer shoe, one of my greatest joys in the summer would be the 2 for $5 flip flop sale at Old Navy.

We drive the country backroads, awhile. A long while. To the point where we thought we had missed it and were about to turn around, then we see it. The sign, all cheerful and happy, making it look like a little meadow Snow White picked flowers in, as opposed to the giant desert rock/oven it really was.

So we go in, and pay, yes, we payed them, to bake on the giant rock. In 104 degree weather. In flip flops.

So we drive to where the trail starts, and we are kindly reminded by the signs not to steal any rocks (dad….) or start any fires. We hop on the trail and not even 25 seconds into the walk Ethan starts “Piggyback me, I’m tired.”

Yes, my father has a doctorate and three degrees.

We start the climb, it’s not so bad, kinda hot but we are surviving… then we get to the rock.

Pretty much everyone died, no one really made it to the top, I made it the furthest, purely for bragging rights, and my legs turn to jelly as we descend the “rock” in flip flops.

That was fun, great detour, way to go dad!

San Antonio

So then we went to the hotel in San Antonio.

That night we ate Mexican at some place that’s been on several food network shows and it was delish.

The next day, we all sleep past the continental breakfast, which really wasn’t that great anyways, and after driving around in circles for what seemed like an hour trying to navigate the streets of San Antonio, go to the Rainforest Cafe for lunch. Which is where we forgot the coupon for a free appetizer (well, Breelin forgot, but I won’t name names or anything) and Mom was not happy. That was a fun lunch. But the air worked really good, and that’s all that matters once it hits 100 degrees.

Then, we went to Del Sol. Every product they have changes color in the sun, it amazes me to no end. I got some color changing nail polish and a shirt. Where could we possibly go next (100 degrees mind you) but to the unairconditioned Alamo. Again. So we went to the Alamo and walked around. My hand santizer that hangs on my purse… well the lid fell off, leaving puddles all over the Alamo floor, which was my queue to run. So, if you ever go to the Alamo and it smells faintly of Vanilla (instead of the usual 200 year old sweat, blood, and tears scent) your welcome.

The next day was Six Flags, it was perfect. Except that I am the only one in our family who enjoys rollar coasters.

There hardly any lines for anything. It was hot but we got some of those refillable bottles and kept hydrated and hyper on Coca-cola all day long, healthy, I know.

Bugs Bunny even told my sister to call him, they’d be so cute together, but I don’t think it could ever work. She hates carrots. He loves them. He always talks about Doctors. She can’t stand them. It’d be like a horror story from match.com

Galveston (land of the sunburn and Sea Wall Blvd.)

So basically as a tourist you drive to the end of the island and pretty much stay right along the main drag, Sea Wall Blvd. Which like the name states, runs paralell to the beach/ocean for the length of the island.

As I looked through my phone for directions to the hotel Mom booked, I ran across some reviews, “OVERWHELMING smell of curry in the lobby”, “Water did not drain properly from the bathtub”, “we arrived to a room that had half eaten donuts left on the floor” and probably the most disturbing “HAVE BED BUGS!!!”

So as I read the reviews and we pulled into the dumpy hotel’s parking lot, the color drained from my mother’s face. We were still going to give it a try until I read the bed bugs comment, that was the last straw.

Mom walked into the disgusting lobby, which did smell like curry and talked to the Indian clerk. She said she wanted to cancel the room because she had read about bed bugs. He told her not to believe everything on the internet.

“Well,” she countered, “Do you have bed bug problems?” The silence and refusal to comment was enough for her to  cancel the rooms, and with that we were on the hunt for another place to stay. (Thanks to Kiersten 🙂

We ended up spending less than we would have at a far better hotel, that was closer to the beach anyways!

The only complaints on this hotel, the fact the elevator door shut so fast we worried walking into it that we’d lose an arm or a leg, or Ethan.

And the air conditioner was extremely loud and bipolar. It turned off and on all night, waking everyone up.

The morning of our beach get away I woke up and the first thing I did, after thinking mean things towards the air conditioner, was check southernbelleview.blogger.com.

Why, you may ask… Because it is one of my favorite author’s blogs, the hilarious and relatable Jenny B. Jones… and last week she had a contest for an advanced copy of her new book There You’ll Find Me. Being one of my favorite authors you know I just had to enter, on the off chance I could win. You simply had to comment and tell her what kicks off summer for you, she would choose one of the people to recieve the book.

So I woke up  early and got on my phone to check the blog out, sure enough, Chasing Cloud Nine, had won! I was thrilled. One because I get a book that I have been waiting for, months early! Two, one of my favorite authors read something I wrote, even if it was only a few paragraphs, to someone who’s goal in life is to be an author, that’s just really cool.

I woke my mom up and she groggily said she was happy for me and went back to sleep. I told her again after she was actually concious and she was really excited.

So at the beach in Galveston we played in the ocean, we floated, swam, screamed a few times (false alarms it was all seaweed), swallowed a few gallons of salt water, and tried to find some good shells, to no avail.

We also were covered in a thin layer of sand that even the shower had a hard time ridding us of. The beach, ah, I will still be finding sand in nooks and crevices for days to come probably.

Only after I got to the hotel did I realize how burnt I was. Think lobster, that would be my shoulders and back at the moment. So much for coming home with a gorgeous golden brown tan.

I will probably have to use some of my graduation money to invest in some strapless shirts for my wardrobe for the coming few days, because there is no way I will be wearing anything on my shoulders for awhile.

Goopy green gunk, here I come. (Aloe Vera is my friend, it is my friend, it is gross, but it is my friend.)

So driving home for hours with a sunburn is pretty much one of the worst ways to spend 6 hours. You cannot lean back, so your neck hurts, but if you lean back your burn hurts. So your pretty much stuck with your head resting on the seat in front of you. For 6 hours.

I love the sun, but it doesn’t love me.

So my only prayer now is that it doesn’t peel, because… one, that’s gross… and two, that’s really gross.

Hope you are all not burnt, and if you are, befriend the coolness of the green goop. A nessescary evil to pale beach lovers everywhere.

Lots of love, Kiersten

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on June 11, 2011, in Living Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m glad you had fun. At least I think you had fun. Your post was a very entertaining take on our vacation. I enjoyed it. love you.-MOM

  2. Hello There. I found your blog the use of msn. This is a really smartly written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

