Road Trip Day One

So today we left Waco with a few simple goals in mind.

  1. Family Bonding… Trying not to kill eachother
  2. Improving our listening skills… Finding new ways to drown out eachother
  3. Exercising and getting active … Eating at dumpy diners from Food Network and trying/hoping to burn off a tenth of the calories we consume
  4. Peace and relaxation … avoiding getting lost, yelling and losing Ethan (which happened at the wedding while he was on the sugar-high from the candy buffet)

Before we got to the loading into the van, getting on eachother’s nerves, Breelin’s annoying headphone speak, and Mr. and Mrs. Wolverton’s gorgeous wedding… we had to get ready.

We woke up, and I had to finish packing and clean my room.

Me. Not finished with something ahead of time, or even on time. Shocking. I know.

So,  I had to pack, I had to cram most of my wardrobe into a tiny suitcase. It’s possibly about to explode and most likely maybe breaking a law or two, and I’m fairly certain that I will never ever be able to get it all back into there. Ever.

Then I had to clean my room for the lovely Danica who will be housesitting. I left a note not to open the closet. Seriously, it is posted on my bed.

So after me waking up and making myself stay in bed to avoid cleaning, a couple hours of everyone telling everyone else to hurry up because we were inevitably running behind schedule (why we even have a goal time is beyond me, unless it is to see if we can set a record for how far past the goal we can go), people complaining they were hungry, and stuffing a ton of junk, half of which probably won’t get used, into the trunk  of the van, we left.

Dad. Oh, dad. Dad wanted to get out of town before getting lunch. So we left town, got to the one stretch of highway with no McDonald’s that exists in this country, and Ethan had an ephinany. He was suddenly about to die of starvation any second.

So I had the pleasure of hearing Ethan complain about being hungry for about half an hour. Let me tell you, that was fun.

During this time of lighthearted pleasure Breelin was wearing earphones, which just makes it all the more memorable.

She leaned over to whisper a secret, about mom, and ended up practically yelling, “did I tell you that mom was,” which is when I cover Breelin’s mouth and mom turns around. “I was what?”

Facebook status from earlier: “Dad: “y’all still haven’t seen Casablanca?” Breelin (with headphones in): “who’s cousin ivanka?” Dad: “Casablanca.” Breelin: “WHO IS COUSIN IVANKA?” I take her headphones out… “casablanca”… “ohhh”… #roadtrip”

Yes, that is mi familia.

So after finally getting happy meals and settling into the car, we get to Waxahatchie First Assembly where we got to see Bearett (our first youth pastor :)) get married, to the beautiful Jennifer Webb (Who is now Jennifer Wolverton). Whose dress by the way was stunning and the wedding was beautifully decorated. Congrats guys.

So now we continue on to the next part of fun. Yay.

I’m sure more entertaining moments are to come, and it will be a memorable vacation. I need my half price run. Need.

So, no current read:    =(

Another Post Soon,

Kiersten

 

About Kiersten Nicole

I'm 21 year old girl, who has tried and failed to blog many times before... I’ve seen more blogs come and go than Lindsey Lohan has seen court dates. But, I’m back and here to give blogging another go. I am a self professed lover of reading, writing, and cookie dough (raw, I live on the edge). I am fluent in sarcasm and could probably fill a book with tweets under the hashtag #InnocentGirlProbs. I survive this life only by the love and strength that the Lord graciously sends my way. You will undoubtedly see posts about God. You will undoubtedly see posts about America,Chickfila, hot guys, conservative values, Texas, my unhealthy obsession with books, and whatever else comes to mind. You might see some sad posts, you might see some boring posts, and you might see this blog crash and burn.

Posted on June 5, 2011, in Living Life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

